top of page
Search

About TheGeeWord

Updated: Jul 1, 2020

Hi all new and old readers!


This is the GeeWord, I originally started blogging for an assignment, but I have decided to continue on my very own page. So, the sky is the limit really!


So, a bit of background info on me, because why not! I’m originally from York and I am heading into my final year at Oxford Brookes University. Anyone who knows me well enough is well aware that I am a bit of a chatterbox. So, in hindsight my own blog is the perfect place for me to share my opinions with others who are equally passionate.


I love being at Brookes and going to university has definitely brought me out of my shell. I was scared at first to leave home but now I am now 110% sure, it’s the best decision I made. Plus, with a fab course and fab friends what’s not to love?

Ok, enough of the cheesy stuff.







So, 2020 the new decade. Everyone set their New Year’s Resolution believing that 2020 was the year for new adventures, dreams to come true, etc etc. However, the coronavirus pandemic which began in late December/ early January in Wuhan, China, flipped the whole world onto its head. Fast forward a few months and the coronavirus pandemic has brought the whole world to a hault.



Not like Mother Nature

is getting her revenge or anything, as the Boston Globe rightly states:


‘Humankind’s presence on Earth is now so lopsided that growing and grazing our food supply requires nearly half the world’s ice-free land, literally pushing other species off the planet. As we invade their habitats, and poach remaining wildlife for market, their resident viruses and bacteria jump to the handiest species left: us[…]With 7.8 billion of us bound tightly by trade and travel, even comparatively weaker contagions like COVID-19 — much less lethal than, say, Ebola — can now trash our economy, crash our lives, and expose how shaky civilization’s scaffolding really is…’



It’s fair to say that coronavirus has pretty much ruined everyone summer plans, and you may be bummed most of the time but it is important to remain positive. Lockdown is tough no word of a lie, and sometimes you find yourself ready to cry. But if anything, it’s a time for us to spend time with loved ones, try something new or get round to that god damn book that you’ve left for months on end.


I’ve been pretty on and off with reading, as I easily get hooked into TV series. Then the next thing you know, I'm still in my PJ's, eating biscuits and on the 3rd season of Supergirl


Sorry not sorry


So, in the next stage of my blogs I am gonna be focusing on some of my favourite books and other exciting topics!

So, stay tuned and please spread the word

The GeeWord

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page